top of page

How are your UB Instructors Coping?

Not well, kids. Not well.



How We ALL Feel


In all seriousness, no one likes feeling trapped, limiting social interactions and not knowing what the future holds. It can limit our sense of purpose, affect our mental health and make us less productive. Tasks and deadlines still loom, and not being able to leave our homes can add to the stress we already feel. How are some of your UB tutors and instructors coping?


"I find the best way to cope is by maintaining a routine to instill self-discipline, that way you continue to make the most of your time. This not only keeps you active but makes your schedule effective. Creating a meal menu and plan has also been essential to me."

-Tutor Stibaly Aguirre

"I love to read anything I can get my hands on, usually near a candle with a vinyl record playing in the background. I also spend time with my dogs, Luxy and Frida, catch up with my friends on FaceTime, and workout from home! I also still teach my 4th grade students virtually everyday, which always lifts my spirits."

-Mr. Jacob Ramirez

"I host a dance party for myself every morning without fail. I've also spent a lot of time perfecting my coffee to cream ratio, baking up a storm and spending the majority of my day in the fresh air of my backyard while I work. Making lists before I go to bed for what I'd like to accomplish the next day also keeps me calm, and ensures I feel accomplished."

-Ms. Jade Williams


With so many unknowns in our current moment, many of us will find new coping mechanisms as we progress from day to day. Positive Psychology defines some positive methods of handling our current moment, which include ideas like:


  • Stretching/Meditating

  • Listening to music

  • Aerobic exercise

  • Watching television

  • Reading

  • Working on puzzles or playing games

  • Going for a leisurely walk

  • Participating in some form of recreational activity you enjoy

  • Doing some yard work

  • Socializing with friends

  • Sitting outside and relaxing

  • Engaging in a hobby you enjoy


There is no right answer for how to handle this pandemic, but there is power in finding ways to ease anxieties that work for YOU. To read more on positive coping strategies, visit https://positivepsychology.com/coping/

bottom of page